Outakes (Interlochen State Park)

On Sunday I visited Interlochen State Park. While the park was more of well kept campground, I still enjoyed walking about and taking some pictures of various natural lovelies.

I walked along the nature trail in the park. The whole walk was riddled with pine trees and the scent was most intoxicating. I was immediately cooled by this scent, seeing as I associate such a smell with Christmas and snowy forests. A very simple trail, but I enjoyed it immensely.

This is a snag that had been struck by lightening and thus was rent apart for all to see.

This is a snag that had been struck by lightening and thus was rent apart for all to see.

A shot of the upper innards of the snag.

A shot of the upper innards of the snag.

Aside from the plant life, I encountered some simple critters. Though common enough I do wish to share their sweetness here.

I know they are pesky, but I must admit that I dearly love chipmunks.

I know they are pesky, but I must admit that I dearly love chipmunks.

I mean, come on,  look at that face!

I mean, come on, look at that face!

Apparently they are common, but this is the first place where I have seen a black squirrel.

Apparently they are common, but this is the first place where I have seen a black squirrel.

Finally, for the cutest critter of the day…

 

 

20130610-211640.jpg

Leave a Reply

