From MA to NY, an Adventure: Day 1

Last week into early this week was a furious spin of beautiful and productive travel that has left me reeling. I chose to visit two of my very dear friends, Persephone and SexyHistorian (was formerly SexyLibrarian, but I just decided that the second portion of that pseudonym was slightly limited) , in Amherst Massachusetts. They currently are roommates, and both are pursuing their Masters degree at the same school within the consortium that exists in that area. I arrived later evening on Wednesday evening, and I enjoyed a rousing trivia night with SexyHistorian at one of her favorite haunts in East Hampton (I went to this place again during my stay, so I will describe the venue more fully in a later post). Thursday is where I shall begin…

Thursday found me driving SexyHistorian into work, which is located in the town center of Amherst. Persephone was off teaching for the day, and SexyHistorian be at work for a large chunk of the day as well. Originally, I planned on bumming around their apartment. However, once outside and in the town center, I could no more think of staying inside than I would consider kicking a kitten. The day was absolutely stunning, all molten-blue sky, sunshine, and a fine breeze blowing through the midst. SexyHistorian was kind enough to point me in the direction of an inexpensive cafe with outdoor seating, and then she whisked herself to work. I spent a couple hours consuming large amounts of tea, reading a very hefty historical romance, and knitting. Once bored with that, I began to traipse about the town center. For those who have never been to this area, tis a place one could fall in love with as quickly as it takes to blink. My love only grew the rest of my stay, but the first deep seed began to sprout on this day. The town is a glorious collection of historical and bohemian charm that left my face aching with smiles. I would walk about viewing a plethora of pleasing architecture and shop fronts, and then I would happen upon a green area where I could plant myself to read and otherwise enjoy being still. I was so enamored of my surroundings, I texted Persephone begging her to join me once she was out of school. She agreed, and my day was further enhance by her generous company as we walked about together. That evening, when we all were back in the apartment, it was decided that the next evening (Friday) we would all get prettied up and head out to bar for cocktails and general mayhem. Thus ended my first day.

Leave a Reply

