Outakes (Christening a new lens with some avian subjects)

Recall a post where I displayed a beautiful new telephoto lens for my glorious camera Clara? I am not a brilliant photographer, but documenting my work for my portfolio is very important. Thus, one very good Christmas, my parents gifted me with a Canon Rebel, and I have never wanted for a better camera. Not only does she do a smashing job with portfolio pictures, she also provides a great way for me to enjoy memories from my various excursions, particularly of the natural variety. I have been aching for a lens that allows me more variety in my close-up shots, and the rents came through yet again. I took the little beauty for a test drive at Lettuce Lake, and let’s just say many a bird gave me quite the money shot πŸ™‚

One of my favorite marshland birds, I find them extremely graceful and elegant.

One of my favorite marshland birds, I find them extremely graceful and elegant.

Extremely common down here, but this loveling posed so nicely I just had to capture.

Extremely common down here, but this loveling posed so nicely I just had to capture.

These guys are super- neat. They create shade with their wings so that fish will gather there to escape the sun. Then WAM!! Fishy delicious.

These guys are super- neat. They create shade with their wings so that fish will gather there to escape the sun. Then WAM!! Fishy delicious.

Not sure of the name, but would never have gotten such a little one before this lens :)

Not sure of the name, but would never have gotten such a little one before this lens πŸ™‚

Again, not sure of the bird's name, but I see them only occasionally hidden in the vegetation. It's always the eyes that catch me.

Again, not sure of the bird’s name, but I see them only occasionally hidden in the vegetation. It’s always the eyes that catch me.

Sweet little fellow, and they don't get much bigger than the length of my forearm.

Sweet little fellow, and they don’t get much bigger than the length of my forearm.

I cannot begin to describe how hard I fought for this shot. This little snot insisted on ducking in and out of various vegetation for twenty minutes. Becoming frustrated, I left for a half hour. As I came back, the beauteous snark had moved into a perfectly open area and looked at me innocently as he posed. Not. Fooled.

I cannot begin to describe how hard I fought for this shot. This little snot insisted on ducking in and out of various vegetation for twenty minutes. Becoming frustrated, I left for a half hour. As I came back, the beauteous snark had moved into a perfectly open area and looked at me innocently as he posed. Not. Fooled.

See, I can fly too!!

See, I can fly too!!

Leave a Reply

