Perhaps Robin’s Relation

Either I mistake your shape and making quite, or else you are that shrewd and knavish sprite…

I think a Puck-like pixie has been following me, and the creature is certainly bent on minor misfortunes. In the last two days, I have:

…had my water bottle (my favorite that I received as swag from Wolf Trap) run over by a twelve passenger cargo van. Miraculously the thing is still functional, only dented in such a way to give it “character.”

…gotten hit full in the face. Truly an accident and no harm done, but suffice it to say that both myself and the other party involved felt quite sheepish and silly after the incident.

…had a large cup of soda spilled all over my general vicinity…coincidentally by the same person responsible for the previously mentioned incidents (do not be fooled, faeries totally befuddle individuals on occasion to distract you from the true source, which is of course their own fickle selves.)

…gotten attacked by a wayward ladder. Ridiculous occurrence caused by a strong wind blowing over a ladder that would have otherwise been quite harmless considering I was standing so far from it. However, the day was again full of boisterous gusts, and the ladder fell quite suddenly, only giving me enough time to shift slightly so that my shoulder caught the blow rather than my head. Painful, but ultimately not serious.

Some blame bad luck. I blame pixies.

Thou speak’st aright; I am that merry wanderer of the night

 

(Qts. A Midsummer Night’s Dream William Shakespeare)

Leave a Reply

