Simply the Way

Today turned into a totally promising start to the week. PNinja and I have been left with a rather daunting list of tasks that need to be accomplished by the end of the week. Starting today, I was certainly aware that we could find ourselves in a very serious time crunch, which only became more apparent when we found out we did not have access to a vehicle. However, after discovering a perfectly serviceable push cart to carry our materials, my fine companion and I soon found out that we may have the ability to carry out our tasks within time. The list is still large, but our pacing today was much quicker because we did not have to wait for approval before moving on to the next task. Left to our own devices, PNinja and I plugged along quite nicely, knocking out a good chunk of our notes by the end of the day. I am just in awe of the responsibility given to us in this instance, which does make me feel even more determined to accomplish the entirety of our list. Thinking on how I’ve met absurd deadlines in the past, I realize that the Lord has given me the strength to deal with these situations well. The situation is also helped by the fact that my partner in paint has also faced some serious deadlines in the past. In our line of work, such things are not uncommon. In fact, I would go so far as to say expected. In theatre, there is no dodging the deadline. The show is going to happen on the expected date and time whether your work has met expectations or not. There is no highway option, that is simply the way. Entertainment is basically the same. There is no margin for error, no chance of extending the deadline, and no time to consider “what if I can’t…” All this is to say that  I have been in the position where I had to paint an entire show by myself in a stupidly short time, and that was when I was a full time student. Needless to say, PNinja has had similar experiences. Thus, when we face this week (with its list of everything from minor to major touch-ups) we can face it with reasonable determination, humility, and clear heads. We’ve been here before, and we will absolutely be in this place again. Hello, we are theatre people, and we are gluttons for punishment 😉

Leave a Reply

