Hey, What a Way to Spend a Day

Had a most fabulous and beauteous day. Started simply enough, with a trek to the laundry room and a bagel breakfast. Then, I had the pleasure of talking to my dear boyfriend Handsome. Considering that he is a bit of a distance from me, phone conversations are extra delightful and I happily whiled away the time at the expense of getting my laundry out on time. As I headed to go take care of that problem, I spied my neighbor’s cat Josie. She is a lovely feline that I have admired many a day, and I have been slowly building an eye-contact relationship with her over the weeks. Wouldn’t you know that today she decides not only to have a conversation with me, but she also sidles right up to me to be properly stroked and loved. I truly do not understand people who don’t enjoy animals. I mean, bad prior experiences aside, how can you honestly be ambivalent towards a fuzzy creature happily snuggling into your hand, and rolling on the ground in a delightful fashion to make sure you account for every possible scratch spot. Laundry be damned, I chose to take a couple minutes to enjoy the kitty love. After I finally tore myself away and managed to get my somewhat smelly laundry back in process, I received a visit from ZeldaStark. She was gracious enough to chill with me until my laundry was complete, and then we were off on many adventures. We first hit the yarn shop. Historic day, I walked out without any yarn. Yes, ladies and gentlefigs, it is true, and you should consider starting your preparations for the apocalypse. I went in for a very small purchase of beads for my next project, and that I fear will be my last “fun” material purchase for a long time. I am in a place financially where I really want to actually save my money, and wouldn’t you know that the main “material” draws on my will power (yarn, books, and Etsy purchases) are all things that I am actually quite sufficient on for the time being. I may allow something yummy once a month, but even that is contingent on everything else demanding my adult attention (and my adult paychecks). From the yarn shop, we made a foray into the House of Sadness (my name for WalMart) so ZeldaStark could make a minor purchase herself. My quarrel with WalMart need only be expressed through my closed wallet so I just steeled myself, focused on my excellent company, and pretended we were just passing through an ogre’s lair and would be through shortly. Then, the purpose of our trip, the farmer’s market. The previous post should be enough to give you an idea of how well that excursion went. ZeldaStark also pointed out that we should embellish our baskets so that the kind cashiers would not continue to think we were purchasing the woven receptacles every time we checked out. A brilliant notion, and though I have every intention of beginning the work tonight, I cannot reveal my plans (or the result) until next we go to market because I suggested we surprise each other. Bidding her farewell, I happily commenced cleaning my apartment, which took a long time because I kept stopping to dance to the music I was listening to at the time. I find that the last two days have smeared a smile all over my face, and now I go to take care of the last few bits of administrative business. Perhaps after that, I will begin embellishing a basket :).

3 comments on “Hey, What a Way to Spend a Day

  1. Persephone says:

    YOU DIDN’T BUY YARN?

Leave a Reply

